Kathmandu University

is an autonomous, not-for-profit, self-funding public institution dedicated to maintaining high standards of academic excellence. Established in 1991, it is committed to developing leaders in classical and professional areas through quality education. Within a period of 29 years, it has built a track record of academic excellence. At present, it offers various undergraduate, graduate, and postgraduate programs through its seven different schools: School of Arts, School of Education, School of Engineering, School of Management, School of Science, and School of Medical Sciences.  

Kathmandu University, School of Education (KUSOED) was established in 1997 with the aim of contributing to enhance the quality of education in the country. The School carried out its first activity in raising the quality of the public schools in Dhulikhel (Dhulikhel is a small town, 30 km east of Kathmandu where the main campus of the university is located) mainly through in-service teacher training and other programs.  Its first academic programs were initiated in 1998 with M Phil and PhD in Educational Leadership. In the coming years the School expanded its academic activities by adding new programs, thereby, escalating its scope. KUSOED today aspires to empower educators with an aim of creating a generation of engaged and socially responsible citizens.

KUSOED has been an innovative educational institution since its inception in 1997.  It has been recognised as an educational innovator, policy influencer, and driver in the country. To take a lead role in the educational activities in the country, KUSOED has established its vision as Transforming Society through Educational Excellence.  All its programs are directed towards achieving its vision. Realising the fact that education is the foundation for social transformation, it has been designing its educational programs to contribute to the learning needs of individuals in the changing national and international contexts.

Professor Mahesh Nath Parajuli, Professor Laxman Gnawali, Professor Bal Chandra Luitel, Dr. Suresh Gautam, and Dr. Lina Gurung are the KU UNESCO Chair team members.

For more, see: https://www.uea.ac.uk/web/groups-and-centres/unesco-chair-programme/kathmandu-university


Kathmandu University,

Dhulikhel, Nepal